Days of Change

Is Anyone Taking This Seriously? | July 2, 2016

I’ve found myself in a position where I don’t really care about much anymore. What I seem to care about now is my own sense of what’s right. That’s why I am not inclined to believe that the people supporting Donald Trump truly don’t give a care. They just don’t care about what’s right.

Even die-hard Donald Trump fans see him as some sort of drastic, Hail Mary, shot gun cure that is necessary because the body politic is so gravely ill. If America was “great” now, Donald Trump would be a bad president. Then again, what’s so bad about America now? Is it the liberalism, the money, the entrenched interests? Trump took part in all of that. This campaign was built on the idea that the other Republicans did not want to throw Mexicans out as quickly as Trump. Now that he’s the nominee, Trump is even walking that back.

In the last 15 years, I’ve seen Bush as the nominee, who had the qualifications and experience, McCain, who was too obsessed with campaign finance to run the most cost-effective campaign, and Romney, who probably could have won in 2008. Now, I’m supposed to support a guy who mistakes bluster for leadership and money for gravitas.

I find it ridiculous. I find it ridiculous that Trump is mostly behind in the polls against the worst politician ever and every other major GOP candidate polls higher. I find it ridiculous that Ted Cruz had a chance to overcome the establishment’s efforts to stop him until Trump added wind to their sails. I find it downright hilarious that I should vote for this doofus because the country is at stake. The stakes apparently too high to support a guy who got 44% of the Republican vote in the primaries.

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Comments

  1. May we live in interesting times. On the bright side, there’s something to be said for not caring, for not getting all caught up in all the hype. When the poo hits the fan, we’re going to need sensible people still standing.

    Comment by insanitybytes22 — July 2, 2016 @ 9:05 pm

    • Exactly. My vote is not a “safety.” I want to have a reason to vote for someone. True believers are trying to get me to vote their way out of cynicism.

      Comment by 1539days — July 3, 2016 @ 8:49 pm


