Days of Change

Indifference 2016: Adolf Hitler is Not on the Ballot | May 17, 2016

The “big”story today, aside from some pointless primaries, is the Melania Trump interview where she said about her husband, among other things, that “He’s not Hitler.”

This response was actually prompted by perennially unknown comedian Louis C.K. comparing Trump to Hitler. I’m annoyed by this because this is some monumental conclusion jumping where Trump says something about a group of people that is extreme. Then it is interpreted as racist and then compared to Adolf Hitler in true Godwin’s Law fashion.

I don’t think Donald Trump is Hitler. I think people elected Hitler when they wanted change so badly that they selected a charismatic leader who promised fundamental change with a disturbing lack of specificity. The same thing happened with Obama in 2008. It’s happening again with Trump. If we keep doing this, one day we’ll roll the dice and lose.

Here’s the other side of that argument. Hillary Clinton is not Hitler, either. I remember the entirety of the PUMA blogosphere made the case multiple times that Hillary Clinton was much better than Barack Obama. Some have the same opinion today, others have the opposite view that she would be worse than Obama. I think 8 years of Obama fear mongering and Tea Party frenzy led us to the Trump campaign.

I know one thing. Hitler is not on the presidential ballot this year. No matter who I vote for, it won’t be Adolf Hitler. Fear will not corner me into voting for a particular candidate.

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Comments

  1. Ha! Now there’s some encouragement! At least Hitler isn’t actually on our ballot. I suppose we should be grateful for small favors.

    Comment by insanitybytes22 — May 17, 2016 @ 10:13 pm

    • I just think it’s funny that Trump supporters are upset that people compare Trump to Hitler than try to get me to vote for Trump because Hillary is so evil. Half of those people would have voted for Hillary and many of them donated to her in 2008.

      Comment by 1539days — May 17, 2016 @ 10:30 pm


