Days of Change

Strong Male Role Model | January 17, 2016

I’ve written before that I haven’t been a fan of Donald Trump for years. His political aspirations don’t impress me either. He’s a flip-flopper, a dilettante and a guy who considers money success. I wouldn’t vote for this guy if he said the right things. Supposedly he does, except he promises things that won’t happen and he trashes other Republicans who have tried to hold the line from the kind of Democrats he used to bankroll.

So, now I have to wonder why I won’t fall for Trump. I didn’t fall for Obama either and I always figured it had to do with political opposition. There’s something else, however, and I’ve been aware of it more over the last year or so. I don’t like Alpha males.

A change of regime has come in my only long-term job. I am being “managed” by aggressive alpha-types who annoy everyone just to the point of quitting and get results by pushing and berating. I’ve considered myself something of a strong beta male. I don’t feel like leading, but I am perfectly capable of it. Then again, I have seen real leadership in my life.

My father was a manager for years. He tended to be pretty low-key, but he was a hard worker and got the job done. Years later, I had a mentor at my current company who ran things by knowing the capabilities of the people who worked for him and knowing when to demand solutions from them. Now, my management doesn’t know what the hell’s going on. I’ve fought them, too, to the extent that I can still keep my job. Fights to the death are for lions.

I’ve written that I can accept Trump as the nominee, although I am dubious of his chances of winning. I will never fall in line. I’d feel a little like Captain Picard if he were a follower instead of a leader.

 

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Comments

  1. My 80 year old male cousin criticizes Trump for being bombastic and even for scowling. What I thought when I read his objections was that he regards Trump as an Alpha male rival. Was I being fanciful? Your post tonight makes me less dubious about my conclusion.

    Comment by Mary — January 18, 2016 @ 3:37 am

    • I think there’s some of that. Trump seems to exemplify the “strong and wrong” type of personality. I never had much use for pack mentality.

      In Obama’s case, his dude-bro personality was manufactured. His pack tended to take out the challengers to his status.

      Comment by 1539days — January 18, 2016 @ 8:22 am


    2016 Polls

    Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

