Days of Change

Caveat Emptor | October 25, 2015

I’ve gotten abused and criticized for my dismissal of Donald Trump. I haven’t actually dismissed him. I don’t like him. I don’t think he can get the nomination and I know he won’t be president. That may be the reason why I don’t believe his crap.

Very few presidents get elected telling people what they don’t want to hear. Obama told people that by electing him, they were part of changing government. He also claimed that he was going to work with the other side. He’s basically broken every campaign promise that he made in 2008 and people love him anyway. Those are the people who wanted a Democrat to win.

I want Republicans to win. When I voted for George W. Bush in 2000, he was criticized for “talking down” the Clinton economy. By Election Day, the stock market had already begun its slide. The economy recovered under Bush and grew until oil prices crashed the market. He talked about cutting taxes and did it. Unfortunately, September 11 halted his plans.

Clinton made promises about a new day for America. So did Ronald Reagan. They believed what they said, even if they couldn’t accomplish their goals. With Donald Trump I get the very real impression that he says things that he either knows he can’t do or is too stupid to know he can’t do. Either way, he’s not getting my vote.

It is true that many of the rich people bankrolling the establishment are interested in illegal Mexican labor and tax breaks for business. They’re libertarians. They like illegals. Trump has plenty of illegals working for him but he knows that no one is stupid enough to promise getting rid of all illegals. He also claims he will get Mexico to pay for a fence and strike fear into Vladimir Putin’s heart. If you’re going to spread bullshit, you might as well lay it on thick.

I would suggest that the voter (or buyer) beware. Lots of people lost money on Trump’s promises. If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. If you want an outsider candidate with brains and integrity, there’s still Ben Carson, beating Trump in Iowa. In fact, you can watch him do surgery on a brain on the Discovery Life channel in about half an hour.

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Comments

  1. Trump has been a successful gadfly. The question for me is, could he beat Clinton. At this point in her Bonnie Parker career, very possibly. When her lies are forgotten a year from now, it will take some powerful fast talking and spending.

    Of course, I still fear omaggot will create a crisis and stage a coup.

    Comment by Mary — October 26, 2015 @ 12:57 am

    • When McCain looked like the nominee, the Democrats decided that Hillary could not beat him. So they brought an empty suit to lie about his intentions.

      I don’t think Trump is lying about his intentions, just downplaying the difficulty of achieving them.

      Comment by 1539days — October 26, 2015 @ 4:11 am


