Days of Change

Breakfast for DInner | October 6, 2015

Sometimes as a kid and less often as an adult, I enjoyed the unique pleasure of breakfast for dinner. Basically, it’s serving eggs, pancakes, bacon or sausage in the evening rather than 12 hours earlier. Even though these are breakfast staples, the totality of them can be kind of heavy for a morning meal. For about $10 you can pick up the same thing from McDoanlds.

People have chosen not to conform to rules regarding appropriate times. You can shop on Sundays. You can get groceries at 3 am in the morning. You can use an ATM on Christmas. As people keep later hours, especially on weekends, missing the 10:30 or 11 am cut off for breakfast became a minor annoyance.When I think about this topic, I am reminded of the more drastic reaction in the movie “Falling Down.”

My local McDonalds is currently a pile of rubble to be rebuilt in a few weeks. The one near my workplace started the menu early, with the popular McMuffin and hotcakes. The breakfast burritos were already available for extended hours. I like the egg and cheese biscuit, not on every McDonalds menu. Sadly for me, biscuits didn’t make the cut.

Posted in Uncategorized

1 Comment

  1. Breakfast is my favorite meal, whether it’s fast food or slow.

    Comment by Mary — October 7, 2015 @ 12:35 am


