Days of Change

I Hate My Job | September 19, 2014

This is my untraceable social media where I can write about things like the horrible company I work for that is getting worse by the day. There’s a certain amount of churn going on and I find myself with the potential for an extended career of drudgery and lack of advancement with the sympathy of my peers as the only consolation.

In almost a decade, I haven’t really hated my job, but the days I think that are becoming more frequent. This is, however, the first time I’ve really had a career crisis. It is entirely possible for me to put out resumes and get out of Dodge, with more money and possibly more respect.

The Obama era has created a new relationship between employees and work. Many people dropped out of the work force, finding ways to get Social Security or Disability early. Others have taken advantage of long-term unemployment insurance. Obamacare has encouraged an underclass of part-time employees who are considered “employed” by the labor department, but lack the 30 hours a week for their employer to pay for Obamacare taxes.

It’s probably for the best. My company is not going to hang around much longer the way they’re going.

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Comments

  1. It’s easy for me to say, “You only go around once,” but I don’t have to pay your bills. A smart person I know who works in the employment field always advises those dissatisfied with their job to look for a new job while they’re still in the current one.

    Maybe not as dramatic as saying, “Take his job and shove it,” but a whole lot more practical and adult.

    Comment by Mary — September 19, 2014 @ 9:53 pm

  2. Obviously I don’t know your full circumstances, but if you have ever wondered about starting your own business a good place to start is by following our podcast ‘Paycheck To Passion’ on iTunes where we talk to people in very much the same position who have gone on to make a living on their own terms very successfully. Just good to know there are other alternatives out there. Good luck!

    Comment by Jasper Blake (@JasperJBlake) — September 20, 2014 @ 9:31 am


