Days of Change

Math is Hard (and Worth It) | August 13, 2014

A Breitbart.com story references an interview where the president of Clear Channel Networks determined that the majority of online demands for boycotts of Rush Limbaugh originate from just 10 activists. All of them knew they were either creating puppet social media accounts or coordinating them. The fact that they were a minority was meaningless. Their equation was that the anger of one outweighed the support of one million. The strategy was dishonest from the start, cost a lot of people money and only increased Limbaugh’s profile.

It doesn’t surprise me that openly propagandist site vox.com posed the question of why the US needs to be good at math. Apparently, our standing in the world’s economy has not been diminished by our low test scores. To use a field they are more familiar with, there is an axiom that in the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king. Just because we are better doesn’t mean we are good.

I have a special relationship with math. I never got past the whole ideas of theorems and proofs and complicated formulas that replaced actual numbers with Greek symbols. Still, I always excelled at all the basic types of math, can do calculations faster than a person with a calculator and regularly memorize hundreds of numbers at work ranging from a few to almost 10 digits. math is a language all its own and thinking about things mathematically is an interesting way to view the world.

This is why math is the enemy of the left. Literature, philosophy, psychology and art are all about interpretation. There is another level of reasoning involved, but it can have the drawback of being too broad. These things can be argued in different ways. Math is more uniform. Its rules are consistent. Math is the language of science. Theories are interpretation, but math is where they are tested.

When the left uses interpretation to explain science and human nature, they are teaching to the test. They have a desired outcome and they need to reason a bridge that joins that outcome to reality. That bridge is soft and flexible. It is also unstable compared to cold, hard data, If people don’t use math, they lose the critical thinking and reasoning that comes with it. When you can’t counter an argument with logic, the one with the loudest voice (or the most puppets) wins.

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Comments

  1. A super duper concluding paragraph, 15.

    Although I am a math dropout, I understand that my failure is a comment about my left-brain limitation rather than about math. It wasn’t until my freshman math course, The Logic of Arithmetic, that I realized I grasped that logic alright but my problem was inability to do computations. I enjoy working math logic problems–sequences, etc–because I don’t have to add or subtract.

    So even despite my age and advanced degrees I still count on my fingers, I agree with you 100% about the relationship between math and honing one’s reasoning prowess.

    But of course the letist anti-education curriculum, common core, will eliminate all that logic nonsense.

    btw, Have I said lately how much I hate liberals?

    Comment by Mary — August 14, 2014 @ 2:54 am

    • btw, Have I said lately how much I hate liberals?

      Maybe. But some things are classics.

      I know people who can’t “do math” but can use math as a tool pretty effectively. I think teaching math or STEM in a different way for different audiences is a good thing. I don’t particularly like when someone says “we must have more girls in math” because the people you’re trying to teach become objects on balance sheet.

      Comment by 1539days — August 14, 2014 @ 3:59 pm


